Wednesday, 25 March 2015 15:45

General Weirich Hosts 10th Annual “Do The Write Thing Challenge” Banquet

"Do The Write Thing" "Do The Write Thing" SCDAG, NCSV
MEMPHIS - Mar. 25, 2015 - Shelby County District Attorney General Amy Weirich will announce the selection of this year’s “Do the Write Thing Challenge” (DTWT) ambassadors this Thursday, March 26, 2015 at Hope Church located at 8500 Walnut Grove at 6:30pm.
This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Challenge here in Shelby County. Thursday night’s banquet will honor past “ambassadors” along with recognizing this year’s selectees.
More than 1200 middle school students from 20 schools in Shelby County submitted essays for the Challenge.
Students from the University of Memphis Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice read the essays and selected 39 to be honored at Thursday’s Banquet.
A local selection committee then reviewed those essays and selected two to represent Shelby County in the National Challenge.
The DTWT Challenge is an initiative of the National Campaign to Stop Violence (NCSV) designed to give middle school students the opportunity to examine the impact of youth violence on their lives and to communicate in writing what they think should be done to change the culture of violence. Personal responsibility is emphasized.
By encouraging students to make personal commitments to do something about the problem, the program ultimately seeks to help them break the cycles of violence in their homes, schools and neighborhoods.
Middle School students across the nation participate by making a commitment not to be involved in violence and to write an essay. The names of the two finalists from Shelby County will be announced at tonight’s banquet. Those students will represent Shelby County in the annual “Do the Write Thing Challenge” National Recognition Ceremony in Washington, D.C.
The National Do the Write Thing Challenge is sponsored by the Kuwait-America Foundation with the core mission to strengthen ties between the peoples of the United States and Kuwait.